top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelos Shtaloja

The Language

I started the study abroad with the goal of learning enough Spanish to be able to have conversations with strangers in the street. At the airport, on my way back to the United States, I had the loveliest thirty minute conversation with two older ladies while waiting in line. I'm beyond happy with what I managed to learn in the short span of a summer. And, this is because I tried my best to learn from the people around me. My friends, Julia, was an essential part of my learning curve, since I would see her every day. I even bought a copy of The Little Prince in Spanish, though I find speaking a lot easier. In the times I left Mexico City, I tried to develop my proficiency of the language to the best of my abilities. In Oaxaca, I went to cultural tours where artisans would speak of the traditional art forms and their history. In Taxco, I learned about the city's history by asking the locals and the vendors. Overall, I am grateful to have committed this energy into learning the language, because my cultural and research experience was elevated ten-fold.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page